Prof. Carolyn Hansson CM, FCAE, FRSC

Professor Carolyn Hansson CM, FCAE, FRSC has a long and distinguished career in industries such as Lockheed Martin (Martin Marietta), Danish Corrosion Labs and Bell Labs as well in academia (Waterloo, Queens, Columbia & SUNY) and was earlier a member of the Board of a TSX and NASDAQ listed Alternate Energy Company (Hydrogenics). A Professor of Materials Engineering at the University of Waterloo, Dr. Hansson is the recipient of many awards including the Order of Canada and is a member of several influential committees within North America and Europe.

During her tenure as Vice President of Research at Waterloo University Professor Hansson drove innovation across all disciplines of the University. She has wide connections within innovation circles in Canada, USA and Europe having lived and worked on both sides of the Atlantic.

Prof. Alexander McLean, Ph.D

With over three hundred technical publications and six books Professor McLean is recognized as one of the world’s most distinguished scientist in the field of material science. He has served / serves as Senior Fellow at Tenaris University in Buenos Aires, Adjunct Professor at Chiba Institute of Technology, Invited Professor at Kyoto University, Consulting Professor for Wuhan Iron and Steel in China, Visiting Professor at MIT and Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto. He is the former President of the Iron and Steel Society. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and also the Canadian Academy of Engineering. Dr. MacLean has a B.Sc. degree in Applied Chemistry (1958) and a Ph.D. in Metallurgy (1963) from the University of Glasgow

Dr. Bejoy Das Gupta

Dr. Bejoy DasGupta has more than 25 years experience in advising major financial institutions including commercial and investment banks, asset managers, insurance companies, sovereign wealth funds, hedge funds, central banks and development banks. He is Chief Economist, Asia/Pacific Division of the Institute of International Finance, a global association of the financial industry with close to 500 members from 70 countries. Dr. Bejoy DasGupta has a Doctorate in Economics from Oxford University and an undergraduate from the London School of Economics

James K. Jacobs, PhD

Dr. Jacobs’ innovations have been instrumental in the development of Electrovaya’s SuperPolymer technology. He co-founded the company with Sankar DasGupta in 1996 and was an instrumental part of its IPO in 2000. He served as CTO of the company until 2003. Dr. Jacobs received a BA from Oberlin College, Ohio and completed both his MA and PhD in solid-state physics at the University of Toronto.